Dalemain is one of the most beautiful and impressive houses in the North West of England. The finely dressed pink stone of its Georgian façade glows magnificently in the sunlight. Yet hidden behind the ordered geometry of its Palladian architecture is the story of its past.
The name Dalemain means 'manor in the valley', there has been a settlement in it's position since the time of the Saxons.The first recorded mention of a building on this site, is of a fortified pele tower in the reign of Henry II; one of a line of towers built to protect the country against the marauding and barbaric Scots to the North.
In the 14th century a manor hall was added, with a second tower and during the 16th century two wings housing kitchen and living quarters, one on each side of the main building were built. These various building works provide a glorious confusion of winding passages, quaint stairways and unexpected rooms in the house that stands today; the Fretwork Room particularly has a magnificent sixteenth-century plaster ceiling and beautiful oak panelling.
In 1679, Sir Edward Hasell bought Dalemain thanks to a legacy from his employer Lady Anne Clifford. Sir Edward acted as 'Chiefe Officer' to Lady Anne Clifford until her death in 1676. As thanks, he was given various gifts from Lady Anne, including her portrait by Bracken and her Diary of 1676 both of which are on show.
Although he made minor changes to the building it was not until later when his son, Edward, built an impressive Georgian front in 1744. This enclosed a central courtyard between the new and the old parts of the house and the house became much grander with public rooms including the breath-taking Chinese Room with its original eighteenth-century, hand-painted wallpaper, riotously alive with birds, insects and flowers.
There have been no major alterations since that date and the interior has thus gradually developed slowly. In 1920 much of the house was modernised by Gertrude Hasell, wife of Major Hasell, who introduced electricity, central heating and redecorated many of the rooms.
The house was opened to the public in 1977 but remains very much lived in by the Hasell-McCosh family where rooms are used throughout the year. There are interesting collections of fine furniture, family portraits, ceramics, dolls' houses, and old toys.
NEW VENUE: C-Art at Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens
Dalemain are delighted to be part of this year's Cumbria Artists Open Studios from 13th to 28th September 2014. 8 Artists are exhibiting in The Great Barn in the Courtyard including David Sims, Jo McGrath, Emma J Lock, Linda Moore, Becky Eden & Frankie Cranfield. With a further exhibition by Hermione & Beatrice McCosh in another part of the Courtyard.
GREAT TASTE AWARDS NEWS 2014
Dalemain Marmalades have excelled at this year's Great Taste Awards.
WELCOME to Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens - Spring & Summer Opening times
The Historic House & Gardens officially opened for the Summer Season on Sunday 6th April 2014. We are open Sunday to Thursday 10.30am to 5pm.
PENRITH REMEMBERS 1914 - 1918
Penrith Remembers Launches The Centenary Programme of the Commemoration of the World War 1 at Dalemain
Dalemain Wins HHA/Christie's Prestigious Garden of the Year Award 2013
The charming English gardens of Dalemain, nestled in the Lake District, have won the 2013 Garden of the Year Award sponsored by the Historic Houses Association and Christie’s. This prestigious national award, now in its 29th year, is designed to recognise the importance of gardens with outstanding horticultural and public appeal, either in their own right or as the setting for an historic house.
Dalemain wins prestigious Heritage Award for best event 2012
Dalemain has been presented with a prestigious Hudson’s Heritage Award for Best Event 2012 - The World’s Original Marmalade Awards & Festival.