Dacre Village near Ullswater
As you enter the village Dacre Castle comes into view. Edward 11 granted Lord Dacre the licence to build a fortified castle in 1307. The castle remained in the Dacre family until after the death of Lord Dacre, Earl of Sussex, who lived an extravagant life at Court having married an illegitimate daughter of Charles 11. The castle and extensive lands were purchased in 1715 from his Trustees by Sir Christopher Musgrave. Whose daughter Julia married Edward Hasell, when he transferred the Dacre lands to his son-in-law. Since that time the castle has remained part of the Dalemain Estates. The castle is a private house and is not open to the public.
The village has a delightful little church St Andrew that is very closely connected to the Hasell family. There are many family memorials inside, not least of which is a delightful window in the chancel engraved by Sir Lawrence Whistler, and dedicated to the memory of Mrs Sylvia McCosh of Dalemain. The new pipe organ is also dedicated to Mrs McCosh: before her death in 1991 she was instrumental in starting the campaign to replace the 19th century organ that had been removed in the 1970s. Following extensive fundraising the new organ was finally installed in 2002. In the churchyard stand four stone bears one at each corner of the church.
The lock on the south door of the church is one of Lady Anne Clifford’s (note the ‘AP’ for Anne Pembroke). She made presents of locks to many people and properties in the area– all of which were made by Dent of Kirkby Stephen and this must be one of the largest. There is another Lady Anne Clifford lock on the front door of Dalemain, which was in fact in use until just a few years ago.
A further remnant of days gone by is the village’s 18th century coaching inn, The Horse & Farrier.
Main Image: Copyright Matthew Pemmott
GREAT TASTE AWARDS NEWS 2014
Dalemain Marmalades have excelled at this year's Great Taste Awards.
NEXT EVENT: North West Plant Heritage Group - Plant Sale at Dalemain. Sun 7th Sept - 10.30am to 4.00pm
FREE entry & parking to the Heritage Plant Sale with Artisan Foods and Craft Stalls, Tearoom, Gift Shop, Dalemain Plant Sales & Agricultural Museum all in the Courtyard at Dalemain.
NEW VENUE: C-Art at Dalemain Mansion & Historic GardensDalemain are delighted to be part of this year's Cumbria Artists Open Studios from 13th to 28th September 2014.
6 Artists are exhibiting in The Great Barn in the Courtyard including David Sims, Jo Mcgrath, Emma J Lock, Linda Moore, Becky Eden & Frankie Cranfield. With a further exhibition by Hermione & Beatrice McCosh in another part of the Courtyard.
WELCOME to Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens - Spring & Summer Opening times
The Historic House & Gardens officially opened for the Summer Season on Sunday 6th April 2014. We are open Sunday to Thursday 10.30am to 5pm.
PENRITH REMEMBERS 1914 - 1918
Penrith Remembers Launches The Centenary Programme of the Commemoration of the World War 1 at Dalemain
Dalemain Wins HHA/Christie's Prestigious Garden of the Year Award 2013
The charming English gardens of Dalemain, nestled in the Lake District, have won the 2013 Garden of the Year Award sponsored by the Historic Houses Association and Christie’s. This prestigious national award, now in its 29th year, is designed to recognise the importance of gardens with outstanding horticultural and public appeal, either in their own right or as the setting for an historic house.
Dalemain wins prestigious Heritage Award for best event 2012
Dalemain has been presented with a prestigious Hudson’s Heritage Award for Best Event 2012 - The World’s Original Marmalade Awards & Festival.