artisan marmalade judging

(left to right) Artisan marmalade judges Pam Corbin, Ivan Day, and Shirley Spear

The World’s Original Marmalade Awards
Artisan & Small Producer Category

fortnum and mason logo

Proudly supported by Fortnum & Mason

The 2021 Artisan Awards – winners announced!


Thank you to everyone who sent a jar of marmalade into this year’s competition. Despite coronavirus restrictions, postal delays and winter storms, we received thousands of entries from all over the world! The Awards were announced at our Plant Fair on Sunday 20th June and we were delighted to reveal that our Artisan Double Gold winners for 2021 are:

Best Traditional Marmalade – Rose Cottage Country Kitchen for their Speyside Malt Whisky Marmalade

Best Savoury Marmalade – Administra SRO for their Spicy Orange Marmalade

Best International Marmalade – Confiture Kajyu Kobe for their Yuzu Marmalade

Huge congratulations to our Double Gold winners, and to all of our Gold, Silver and Bronze Award winners. It has been a phenomenal year for Artisan marmalade and we have been blown away by the quality of our winners. For the full list of Artisan Award winners in 2021, CLICK HERE.

For more information about our Award winners in both the Homemade and Artisan competitions, you can read our blog post HERE. 

Winners can purchase their Award winning roundels, to be displayed on their winning jars, directly from InkREADible. Winning a Gold, Silver or Bronze Roundel denotes a marmalade of exemplary quality. Selected winners are also available at Fortnum & Mason in their prestigious Piccadilly store.

Entering the 2022 Artisan Awards

If you make your own open-pan artisan marmalade and would like to enter the 2022 competition, make sure you join our mailing list HERE. We will email you when the competition opens at the end of this year, and will send a copy of the entry form, which contains all the information you need on how to enter, with categories, Terms and Conditions and delivery instructions.

Winning an Artisan Award denotes a marmalade of incredibly high quality and past winners have seen huge increases in their sales. All Artisan entries are judged by an expert panel and selected winners are sold by Fortnum & Mason in their famous Piccadilly Store. We look for all types of marmalade, including Low Sugar and Organic!  This is a specialist competition for small producers who make their marmalade using the tradition open-pan method, and sell their products commercially.

2021 categories:

1. Seville Orange Marmalade
1a. Thick cut (peel approx. 8mm diameter)
1b. Medium cut (peel approx. 4.5mm diameter)
1c. Fine cut (peel approx. 1.5mm diameter)
2. Any Citrus Marmalade
2a. Lemon Marmalade
2b. Lime Marmalade
2c. Blood Orange Marmalade
2d. Grapefruit Marmalade
2e. Seville with any other Citrus
2f. Any other Citrus (single or combination)
3. Reduced Sugar Marmalade
4. Citrus Preserve with Interesting Additions
5. Citrus Preserve with Alcohol
6. Citrus Preserve for Savoury Food
7. Organic Marmalade

More information

If you produce and sell your marmalade commercially, you are not eligible to enter the Homemade Awards, so please do read the terms and conditions carefully.

If you win a Double Gold, Gold, Silver or Bronze Award, you are eligible for the Award Roundels, which can be purchased through the Marmalade Awards. These can be affixed to your jars and denote a marmalade of the highest quality. All winners are also listed on our website.

For more updates, follow us on Twitter at @MarmaladeAwards or email

Marmalade Awards News


Tweets by ‎@MarmaladeAwards